A Dog’s Life (FBC Mysteries, #1) by Edward Garbowski Jr (Review By Tina)

18162378

**Review By Tina From The Nerd Girl Page**

*This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.*

 

A Dogs Life is a murder mystery that is so well written that it is hard to believe this is Edward Garbowski first book.  A real page turner that from the very first page your drawn into the story and you just can’t put it down, there is no place you want to stop and pick up later.

The main character Franklin Benjamin Cartwright (FBC) from the first page has you interested in who he is, where he’s going, and what will he run into.   Every character is written with careful detail that does not give you everything at once, as if you were getting to know a new person in your life.  You get to know them as the story goes on and as you read you’re drawn into the story and forming you own opinion of who each character is, and you might be right or you might be surprised.   I love the fact that the writing for each character, you knew that they were an outsider or… Continue reading

Open Your Eyes by Jani Kay (Review By Lauren)

Synopsis
Second chances? Twisted love triangle? Hot steamy sex? Hell YES!
Open Your Eyes:
Shattered and disillusioned after separating from her domineering husband, all Natalie wants, is a peaceful Christmas vacation in New York City, with her 21 year old daughter, Olivia. Uncomplicated. No pressure. Fun.
What she didn’t expect, was meeting a dangerously handsome stranger in an art gallery. He is charming, sexy as hell, and does funny things to her insides. Her frozen heart slowly melts as he seduces her, awakening her deepest desires, showing her that the kind of love she craves is very possible. She wants him as much as he wants her.
Battling his demons from the past, famous photographer Nicholas Gallagher has successfully evaded serious relationships, earning him the title of the world’s most eligible bachelor. But from the moment he lays eyes on Natalie, she stirs something in him. Compelled to chase the sadness from her vivid blue eyes, Nick is captivated by the spirited Australian beauty.
Hot romance.
Steamy sex.
Absolute perfection.
Until Natalie gets a call from home – one she can’t ignore. In a fateful moment the game changes and throws her life into chaos. Gabriel, her jealous ex, wants… Continue reading

The Emblazoned Red by Dawn McCullough-White (Review By Pauline)

17999913

**Review By Pauline From The Nerd Girl Page*

*This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.*

For me, this book would be one of the examples of why I should never read the prologue. The prologue opens with a vampire on the hunt, and the entire scene turned me off to the book. The first chapter follow-up wasn’t much better. I was confused, I felt as if there was a lot going on and I was dropped into the middle of it – like someone who didn’t know how to swim being dropped in the deep end of the pool. But the writing is solid, and I pressed on, hoping that the book would live up to the promise made on the beautiful cover.

And boy, did it. It’s not long before we are introduced to the incredibly honorable and loveable pirate captain, Nate Sutton. Swoonworthy like Gerard Butler, his self-sacrificing mannerisms endear him to the reader long before Ilka even becomes aware of her own feelings. The author deserves the title of “Champion of the Anti-hero.” The book became a fast-paced, easy read, and I found myself immersed in a fantasy world… Continue reading

Cover Reveal!!! Maybe This Time by Chantal Fernando V””V

smalljacket1

Maybe This Time by Chantal Fernando

COMING DECEMBER 2013

Blurb

Moving in with my half-brother Xander, I had no idea what to expect.
But nothing could have prepared me for this.
My brother’s friends are wild, protective, secretive, always around.
And drop dead gorgeous.
Out of all of them, there’s something about Reid Knox.
Brooding, temperamental, guarded…
And I want him more than anything I have ever wanted in my life.

 

Industrian Revolution (The Chronologies of Gyre:The Gregorian Part One) by Tony Rand Scott (Review By Jaime C)

***Review By  Jaime C For The Nerd Girl Page ***

*This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.*

A very creative and intriguing read. Gyre is a civilization run by steam-powered robots. These aren’t your typical robots. They are much like humans, with personalities and reasoning. Tony Rand Scott has built a truly unique world that pulls you in and captivates you from the start. I really enjoyed the writing style and the story itself. I would categorize it as sci Fi with a dystopian twist. This is the first book of its kind that kept my attention.

The robots are divided into two factions, the maintenance and repair robots, and the higher form whose task it is to introduce technology to the lower form of biological races. Any kind of human emulation is frowned upon and forbidden. However, after many centuries, some robots have different ideas. Malthusian wants the human race wiped out, but faces opposition from The Gregorian and other factions.

 

Find The Book On Amazon HERE

***Review has been written in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official.
For more information regarding our reviews please visit our fansite at: Nerd… Continue reading

A Legacy of Light by Daniel Arenson (Review By Cianna)

LegacyofLight

*Review By Cianna From The Nerd Girl Page**

**I was given a copy of this book, by the author, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own and not influenced by this gesture**

 

Blurb:

“We live in a time of darkness. Requiem lies cloaked in shadows. Tonight we say: We will fight. We will keep our light blazing.”

A Legacy of Light (The Dragon War, Book One) — a new fantasy trilogy for fans of A Game of Thrones and The Lord of the Rings

The people of Requiem, an ancient kingdom, can grow wings and scales, breathe fire, and take flight as dragons. For years, Requiem’s holy stars have blessed the kingdom with light and magic. But now a darkness falls.

General Cadigus, traitor to the crown, has captured the throne. Bloodthirsty and cruel, he rules with an iron fist. He crushes his own people under his heel. He burns all foreign lands. The noble kingdom of Requiem fades; a dark empire rises.

In the wilderness, a small light kindles. Rebellion brews. The rebels are haggard, outnumbered, and desperate. They hide in forests and ruins. They fight for the memory of Old Requiem, for a… Continue reading

Adam, Enough Said (This Can’t Be Happening #3) by Lynda LeeAnne (Review By Tara)

17456705

***Review From Tara For The Nerd Girl Page***

**This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review**

Synopsis:

Our past was painful and a lot of mistakes were made, but that was then – this is now.
Mia wants a fight? I’ll give her one.
She wants to leave me? I’ll make her stay.
This is our future. She belongs to me.

Our past wasn’t just painful, it was soul-shattering, and no amount of time will change that.
Adam wants a fight? Bring it.
He won’t let me leave? I’ll make him pay.
This is my future. I don’t belong to him.

Follow Adam and Mia’s journey through the deliciously dysfunctional madness they like to call…marriage.

Author’s note: This is the third book in the This Can’t be Happening Series, but it can be read as a stand-alone.

Author’s warning: Mature content, lots of cussing (as in, A LOT), a five-foot-three, redheaded, terror of a woman and a sexy, possessive, crazy, hot alpha cop.

 

My Review:

WOW! I don’t know where to start!

I was only introduced to this series this week, thanks to the Nerd Girl team… And I so wish I had discovered it… Continue reading

The Witches of Aba Nam Book 1: The Orb by Ross G. Homer (Review By Amber)

14654488

***Review From Nerd Girl Amber***

**Given a copy book from the author in exchange for an honest review**

Let me start off by giving a standing ovation to the author! It is not every day that you find an author that can articulate so much detail and description into their books AND still be able to keep your attention throughout the book. Ross G. Homer certainly is one of those authors. BRAVO!! It is also not often that my husband is intrigued by a book either. He rarely reads (unless it is a newspaper or magazine) and he too was completely taken away by this book! So again BRAVO!!

I can honestly say that when it comes to this type of genre, I often get bored if the story is not an attention grabber. NOT once did I become bored with this book. It was definitely a page turner. I could not seem to pry myself away from this book until it was finished. These characters and this particular story were so captivating and magical. I loved how the attention to detail in this book not only painted a very vivid picture in my mind of this world, but also… Continue reading

How to be a Goddess by Sarah Nestler (Review By Gladys)

Nestler-How to be a Goddess-Final Cover.indd

Book Synopsis:

As Katla races her long time best friend Riley to class, she runs into an odd man in a black cloak. When she wakes up from the impact of the hard hallway floor, she finds herself in a different world—the underworld.

Katla soon finds out who the odd man is.  He’s Hades… god of the underworld, god of the dead. Katla’s been turned from a normal teenager into an ice goddess; life as she knows it has changed forever. When she thinks it can’t get any worse, she meets Apollo and they have an instant connection. It’s not until she learns Apollo is actually Riley that she realizes why!

With the help of her best friend, Katla learns How to Be a Goddess, and it isn’t as bad as it seems.

Gladys #XOXOtheNerdGirlOfficial Review:

*****This book was provided by the author for an honest review*****

I was amazed first of all that this was written by a 13 year old.  I wish when I was 13 that I was so brave that I took the poems I wrote and got them published, but that is neither here nor there.  This novel was a well written… Continue reading

Beyond Dusk: Anne (The House of Crimson and Clover) by Sarah M. Cradit ARC (Set of 3 Reviews)

18337930

COMING SOON!!!!!

 

**Review Of ARC By Amber, Cianna and Shelby For The Nerd Girl Page**
***ARCs received in exchange for honest reviews***

Synopsis:

Following the death of her dominating mother, Anne Fontaine decides to leave the bayou to reconnect with her estranged half-sister, Adrienne Deschanel. Her hope is to forge a relationship with Adrienne that was not possible when her mother was alive. Secretly, she also hopes to find out if her extraordinary supernatural talents are shared by anyone else.

When Nicolas Deschanel gets wind of Anne’s presence, he suspects that she is one of many con artists after his sister’s money. Not knowing that her story is true, he engages in a game of cat-and-mouse with her, deciding to have a little fun.

Eventually, circumstances find both of them back at the Deschanel family seat, Ophélie, where secrets and stories come to life

 

AMBER’s REVIEW

** I received an ARC of this book, in exchange for an honest review **


 This quaint little story is very attention grabbing! While reading it, I completely forgot it was a short read. I was so lost in the story that once I had reached the end, I was craving… Continue reading

NGO on Twitter!