A Swift Kick In The Asteroids (The Wave Gate Cycle #1) by Edward Zajac (Review by Cianna – #NerdGirlSunshine)

Swift Kick

Title: A Swift Kick In The Asteroids (The Wave Gate Cycle #1) 

Author:  Edward Zajac 

Published Date: November 9th 2015

Genre: Sci-Fi

Rating:

1 star1 star1 star1 star

paragraph divider 18

***THIS BOOK WAS PROVIDED TO NERD GIRL IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW***

Synopsis

“Alternately fascinating and hilarious, Edward Zajac’s cosmic romp A Swift Kick in the Asteroids is devious, irreverent and entertaining, a swift kick in the funny bone.”

–Richard Ellis Preston, Jr., author of the Chronicles of the Pneumatic Zeppelin series

Neurotic tech Zagarat Cole had no choice but to steal 432,985 credits from the Deus Syndicate. It was the only way to pay for his mother’s medical treatments. So, when a Deus executive called Zag into his office, he knew the jig was up. Or down. Or however it was you danced a jig. Yet to Zag’s astonishment, the executive didn’t excoriate, eviscerate, or “ate” him at all. He offered him a job.

The Deus CEO would consider it a personal favor if Zag helped privateer, ladies’ man, and all around great guy Fletcher Griffin with an easy outsource assignment. Were the fates smiling on Zag for once in his sunning life? Until then, it seemed like whoever was writing his story in the Great Cosmic Diary just plain didn’t like Zag. But here was an opportunity to curry favor from the tenth most powerful CEO in the known universe and possibly even make a few credits on the side.

However, Zag quickly learns that nothing is easy when Fletcher Griffin is involved. He soon finds himself hacking into the corporation’s database, searching for incriminating evidence linking a Deus executive to Galustay; an insidious drug that can only be derived by harvesting adrenaline from living Weiylans. Now Fletcher and Zag must find a way to stop the harvesters and free the Weiylans, all the while fighting off a case of intentionally induced food poisoning (which Fletcher could totally explain), avoiding the ire of a powerful executive (which Fletcher could totally explain), and generally running for their lives wherever they go (which Fletcher could totally explain).

And yet, something strange happens to Zag along the way. His anxieties dwindle away, subsumed by something called courage. All because of an enigmatic privateer who is more than what he seems. And he seems to be a bumbling idiot.paragraph divider 18

***Cianna – #NerdGirlSunshine’s  Review***
I really enjoyed this novel. I thought that the ideas in the piece were well thought out and really resonated well with the intended audience of sci-fi and techie nerds. I laughed at much of the crazy adventures that Zagarat & Fletcher get into, and really enjoyed watching the characters develop as the story went on. I think that as a debut piece this book really had strong qualities that would appeal to a sci-fi audience but I just think the length of the book slows down, and may hinder some potential readers. But, It’s completed worth it to read the book to the end, because you will spend countless moments laughing with this characters, and by the time you finish, you will be excited for more!

This book is definitely a sci-fi piece. It’s on the long side, and has very advanced dialog, or long explanations that sometimes slow down the pace of the reading, but the characters shine through and make for a very humorous adventure in the vein of Douglas Adams, and I can understand why the author chose to compare it to that. It’s a bit touge in cheek, and a bit of dry humor, but it’s really well thought out.

All in all, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I accepted this book, because when book’s tend to compare themselves to something very well known & loved in the Sci-Fi realm, it’s often hard to read the book without large amounts of comparing between the two, but I felt that this book could stand on it’s own without the attachment to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy as a reference point. It’s funny, it’s well organized, and it’s got really endearing quirky characters that I’d like to revisit again!

 

***Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official. For more information regarding our reviews please visit our Fan Site: www.facebook.com/NerdGirl.NG***

GR

amazon

  • Kel

    Thanks!

NGO on Twitter!