Myths of Midwinter: The House of Crimson & Clover Volume 6 (House of Crimson and Clover #6) by Sarah M. Cradit – Review by Julie #NerdGirlJulie


Title: Myths of Midwinter: The House of Crimson & Clover Volume 6 (House of Crimson and Clover #6)

Author: Sarah M. Cradit

Published Date:  October 20, 2015

Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy


1 star1 star1 star1 star1 star

paragraph divider 18



Dive into the secret, ancient, powerful world of two New Orleans families, the Deschanels and the Sullivans…

Quillan Sullivan lost his twin brother two decades ago, a tragedy he never fully experienced due to his unusual ability to see and talk to Riley when no one else can. He believes this “gift” is a fluke, until the haughty, vainglorious love of his life, Estella, returns after several years abroad, and rips his world apart.

Estella Broussard loathes Quillan. He’s the last person on Earth she’d ever bless with her presence. To her great dismay, he alone holds the key to achieving her deepest desire. She will do anything to reach her aims, no matter the warnings… no matter the cost to Quillan.

Nerys guides Finn and Aleksandr on their mission to find Anasofiya and bring her home. Finn accepts her help, on the condition she keep no secrets. She relays what she knows… all except the visions her old companion has sent her, regarding a terrifying menace to the Deschanels back home: A necromancer has emerged, and this ominous knowledge has fallen into the wrong hands.

The threads of fate weave the Deschanels and Sullivans down perilous paths, as a centuries-old warning emerges: Seduction to sinners. A legacy in splinters. Beware, the myths of midwinter.

***Adult Warning – May Contain Graphic Sex, Strong Language, Or Adult Situations. Caution Advised***
paragraph divider 18
***Julie  #NerdGirlJulie Review***

Myths of Midwinter is part of The House of Crimson and Clover series by Sarah Cradit.  It cannot be read as a stand alone novel.  In fact, even followers of the series might need to check the family tree, time line and character encyclopedia in the appendix of this book.

Myths of Midwinter is told from multiple points of view.  I would say there are three discernible storylines in this book; within each story line there are multiple narrators.  At first, it felt a bit choppy, but as I remembered details from prior books, the story started to flow better for me.  The plot is evenly paced, and Ms. Cradit has built in a strong sense of foreboding and tension into this installment of her series.  The series is very detailed, and Myths of Midwinter increases the complexity of the series dramatically.

The cast of Deschanels and Sullivans in the series continues to expand.  In addition to new family members, some previously known family members discover hidden powers and paranormal skills.  I loved the addition of Lauren Weatherly; she’s a young attorney working at the Sullivan law offices.  I see the potential for another love triangle in the future of The House of Crimson and Clover!

Cradit has masterfully created a fantasy world for her stories to take place.  Most of the series to date has taken place in the world as we readers know it, and in it, Cradit has embedded an intriguing mix of paranormal capabilities, the occult, Irish mythology, and history.  The details about a couple cemeteries in Louisiana adds a little spark to the touristy cemetery tour hosted by some of the Broussard family.  It is clear that Cradit puts a lot of time into researching everything she adds to her stories; the occult artifacts, etc. such as the charms/ruins found by Quillan, and the big-reveal letter found by Estella.  Cradit then takes that research and weaves rich dynastic worlds in which her necromancers, starlight awakeners, time shapers and humans interact.

Start at the beginning and dive into this series:

The House of Crimson and Clover Series:
Volume I: The Illusions of Eventide
Volume II: Bound
Volume III: Midnight Dynasty
Volume IV: Asunder
Volume V: Empire of Shadows
Volume VI: Myths of Midwinter

House of Crimson & Clover Series Prequels:
The Storm and the Darkness

La Famille Lagniappes (Character Bonus Stories):
Flourish: The Story of Anne Fontaine
Shame: The Story of Jonathan St. Andrews

House of Crimson & Clover Lagniappes (Series Bonus Stories ):
St. Charles at Dusk: The Story of Oz and Adrienne
Surrender: The Story of Oz and Anasofiya
Fire & Ice: Remy & Fleur Fontenot
Dark Blessing: The Landry Triplets
Pandora’s Box: Jasper and Pandora Broussard
The Menagerie


***Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official. For more information regarding our reviews please visit our Fan Site:***


amazon Barnes and Noble Kobo

The following two tabs change content below.
NGO on Twitter!