*****AWESOME BLOG***** All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness (Review by Melanie V””V #NerdGirlVamp)

Hello Nerd Herd!!!!!

As you know from time to time your top 3 will share with you some reviews or musings from the “Non Indie” world so here are My thoughts on  The ENTIRE All Souls Trilogy!!! 

Melanie  V””V #NerdGirlVamp


Titles : –

Discovery Of Witches (All Souls Book 1)

Shadow of Night (All Souls Book 2)

Book Of Life (All Souls Book 3)

Author: Deborah Harkness

Genre: Paranormal 

 Combined Rating:

1 star1 star1 star1 star

paragraph divider 18



Discovery Of Witches (All Souls Book 1)
A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.
Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.
Debut novelist Deborah Harkness has crafted a mesmerizing and addictive read, equal parts history and magic, romance and suspense. Diana is a bold heroine who meets her equal in vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont, and gradually warms up to him as their alliance deepens into an intimacy that violates age-old taboos. This smart, sophisticated story harks back to the novels of Anne Rice, but it is as contemporary and sensual as the Twilight series-with an extra serving of historical realism

Shadow of Night (All Souls Book 2)
Historian Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, and long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont have broken the laws dividing creatures. When Diana discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library,she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to Matthew. Now the fragile coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened.
Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot.
Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers..

Book Of Life (All Souls Book 3)
After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters fromA Discovery of Witches–with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency. In the trilogy’s final volume, Harkness deepens her themes of power and passion, family and caring, past deeds and their present consequences. In ancestral homes and university laboratories, using ancient knowledge and modern science, from the hills of the Auvergne to the palaces of Venice and beyond, the couple at last learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago

***Contains Graphic Sex, Strong Language or Adult Situations. Not for young readers***
paragraph divider 18
***Melanie V””V – #NerdGirlVamp’s  Review***

Let me start by saying book 1 – A Discovery of Witches is perhaps one of my all time favorite books and I read it when it first came out and have read it several times since.  The whole idea of lost archives, magic, alchemy, and science all being thrown together is nothing short of genius and Deborah Harkness came up with a story that embraced this remarkably.

This was always announced as a trilogy and so it was no great surprise to be that the books are not entirely complete within themselves.  New readers will be thrilled to know that all 3 installments are now available for your binge reading pleasure so unlike me you won’t have to suffer the agonizing wait (and trust me the wait felt like forever).

Book 2  – Shadow of Night was my least favorite, however, I could tell that there was a lot of information that we were going to need when we got to book 3 and so please stick with it. It will all make sense in the end.

Book 3 – Book Of Life brings a wonderful conclusion to the trilogy.   Whilst not surpassing book 1 for me, it did remind me why I fell in love with the series in the first place.  You get conclusions, in my case a couple of them I wasn’t happy with but those were my issues and nothing to do with the writing, and I am thrilled that I have this collection now on my shelf so that I can revisit whenever I want.

I give the series overall a solid 4 stars!



DH Giveaway

***Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official. For more information regarding our reviews please visit our Fan Site: www.facebook.com/NerdGirl.NG***


Buy Links:



NGO on Twitter!