The Grimm Diaries Prequels Volume 1- 6 by Cameron Jace (Review By Melanie – #NerdGirlVamp)

 Grimm Diaries

Title: The Grimm Diaries Prequels Volume 1- 6

Author: Cameron Jace

Published Date: November 19th 2012

Genre: Paranormal / Fantasy / Horror


1 star1 star1 star1 star

paragraph divider 18



What if all you knew about fairy tales was wrong?

Warning: these Grimm Prequels are like snap shots of a magical land you’re about to visit soon. I like to think of them as poisoned apples. Once you taste them, you will never see fairy tales in the same light again.

This Grimm Diaries Prequels are a number of short books in the form of epistolary diary entries. The diaries are more of teasers for the upcoming series: The Grimm Diaries, allowing you to get a glimpse of what to expect of the series. The 6 diaries are told by The Evil Queen, Peter Pan, Little Red Riding Hood, the Devil, Prince Charming, and Alice Grimm 
The first book in the Series will be out in February 2013, called SNOW WHITE SORROW.

Series Description:
The Grimm Diaries are pages written in a Book of Sand, where each fairy tale character confessed the true stories once altered by the Brothers Grimm two centuries ago. To keep the truth about fairy tales hidden, the Brothers Grimm buried the characters in their dreams to never wake up again. But the curse is broken now, and the characters are allowed to wake up every one hundred years. They intend to tell the truth about really happened, and about an untold cosmic conflict between fairy tale characters.
List of the available Grimm Diaries Prequels:

1 Snow White Blood Red
narrated by The Snow White Queen

2 Ashes to Ashes and Cinder to Cinder
narrated by Alice Grimm

3 Beauty Never Dies
narrated by Peter Pan

4 Ladle Rotten Rat Hut
narrated by Little Red Riding Hood

5 Mary Mary Quite Contrary

6 Blood Apples
narrated by Prince Charming


***Not for young readers***
paragraph divider 18
***Melanie – #NerdGirlVamp’s  Review***

Sometimes when you offer reviews you get offered a title that you just can’t refuse and this was one of those times.

I am not really sure how to start other than to say you get exactly what is described on the box. A series of prequels that are obviously leading you on to other stories but these really are short.

That being said I enjoyed them. As with all collections some spoke to me more than others (Snow White Blood Red being a particular favorite) and the writing obviously comes from a dark place which always appeals to me.

Overall I have to say this little collection is a nice thing to have in my library and it has definitely intrigued me to the extent I would read more and see if the author can keep up the intrigue when given a larger setting.

A solid 4 star read and a high recommend for people that like their fairy tales with a bit less HEA. Oh and right now it is FREE on Amazon! You can’t ask for a better deal than that!


***Review has been done in conjunction with Nerd Girl Official. For more information regarding our reviews please visit our Fan Site:***


Buy Links:


NGO on Twitter!